Indonesia Bans Arrivals from 8 African Countries to Curb Omicron Variant: Report

An empty view of Ngurah Rai International Airport is seen at Indonesia’s resort island of Bali. (Image: Reuters)

The restriction takes effect on Monday, a document obtained by Reuters says.

  • Reuters JAKARTA
  • Last Updated:November 28, 2021, 10:53 IST

Indonesia will ban the arrival of travellers who have been in eight African countries, to curb the spread of the new Omicron variant of COVID-19, an official document showed on Sunday.

Indonesia, home to popular tourist island Bali, will not allow people who have been in South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Mozambique, Eswatini or Nigeria in the past 14 days.

The restriction takes effect on Monday, the document says.

Delegates attending G20 meetings, which Indonesia chairs, will not be affected by the ban.

Read all the Latest News, Breaking News and Coronavirus News here. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Telegram.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *